Iluso Records is an independent record label founded in 2013 by Michael Caratti and Álvaro Domene.

Our catalogue focuses on exploratory creative new music derived and informed by the fertile traditions of jazz, avant-garde metal, free-improvisation, western contemporary classical, and experimental electronic music.

We have featured works by artists who are dedicated to exploring the endless sonic possibilities that can be found within and beyond said genres:

Briggan Krauss, Colin Marston, Matthew Shipp, Elliott Sharp, Henry Kaiser, Mike Pride, Álvaro Pérez, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Colin Fisher, Lotte Anker, Pat Thomas, Eliane Gazzard, Ingebrigt Håker Flaten, Frode Gjerstad, Michael Bisio, Kirk Knuffke, Harvey Valdés, Ståle Liavik Solberg, Max Kutner, Terry Day, Sam Newsome, John Butcher, Dane Johnson, John Russell, Tom Rainey, Killick Hinds, Josh Sinton, Jason Ajemian, Chad Taylor, Rachel Musson, Chris Hoffman, Steve Beresford, Eli Wallace, Devin Gray, Brandon López, Aaron Quinn, Jason Nazary, Dominic Lash, Alex Ward, Ricardo Tejero, Javier Carmona, Rick Parker, Jeremy Carlstedt, Luke Barlow, Roberto Sassi, Santiago Horro, Sergio Mena, and Andrew Bassett.


For all enquiries including artist bookings and purchase requests please contact the team at






 Extremophile by Dominic Lash Quartet


  • Javier Carmona · drums and percussion
  • Dominic Lash · contrabass
  • Ricardo Tejero · alto saxophone and clarinet
  • Alex Ward · electric guitar and clarinet


Recorded by Alex Ward, Bristol University, 4 August 2016.

Mixed and mastered by Alex Ward.

Artwork by Shea Walsh.

© All Rights Reserved.

ircd06 • Released:

Dominic Lash Quartet


Iluso Records presents ‘Extremophile’ by the Dominic Lash Quartet.

Contrabassist Dominic Lash is one of the leading figures on the UK/European new music scene. Since emerging from the Oxford Improvisers collective, Lash’s musical career has seen him evolve into one of the UK’s most prolific and acclaimed musicians, having performed with legendary names such as Evan Parker, Tony Conrad and Tony Buck (the Necks).

‘Extremophile’ begins where the group’s acclaimed first album, ‘Opabinia’ (Babel Label) left off. The introduction of Alex Ward (on electric guitar and clarinet) to the ensemble, replacing piano player Alexander Hawkins, gives the band an edgier and more aggressive sound, while never losing the deft sensibility Lash and his quartet are renowned for.

Lash’s compositional approach traverses the worlds of contemporary classical music and avant-garde jazz. Arrangements of works by Cecil Taylor and 14th century French composer Solage reveal the breadth of Lash’s creative palette.

Blurring the schism between compositional form and free-improvisation, the quartet navigate Lash’s compositional frameworks with a gritty bravado that makes them one of the most exciting bands on the European new music scene today.

‘Extremophile’ is a cutting edge release by a band at the forefront of the creative and new music world.

Iluso Records is an independent
record label founded in 2013.
Our catalogue includes creative new music
from some of the world’s best music makers.