Iluso Records is an independent record label founded in 2013.

Our catalogue includes creative new music from some of the world’s best music makers.


For all enquiries including artist bookings and purchase requests please contact the team at






 Season of Sadness by Frode Gjerstad / Fred Lonberg-Holm / Matthew Shipp


  • Frode Gjerstad (alto sax and clarinet)
  • Fred Lonberg-Holm (cello)
  • Matthew Shipp (piano)


Recorded September 14th, 2018 at Park West Studio, Brooklyn, by Jim Clouse.

Mixed by Fred Lonberg-Holm.

Art and design by Adam J Bragg.

© All Rights Reserved.

ircd21 • Released:

Frode Gjerstad / Fred Lonberg-Holm / Matthew Shipp

Season of Sadness

We are living in a sad moment in time Discourse is too often framed in anger Obtuseness, belligerence and intolerance prevail

Freedom is an artefact Have things really changed so much, so quickly, will they ever be the same again?

We shall endure this Season of Sadness Because our music speaks with respect, it does not discriminate We open our hearts and share all that is in Forever equal in the moment

- Frode Gjerstad

Iluso Records presents Season of Sadness, a captivating and deep reaching statement by an inimitable trio of three of the worlds most acclaimed and unique figures in creative new music, Frode Gjerstad, Fred Lonberg-Holm and Matthew Shipp.

A poignant and angst ridden reflection on the present world politic, Season of Sadness is an utterly compelling album comprising eight spontaneously composed and performed pieces brimming with intimate and contained tension, nuanced detail and tempered spaciousness.

The distinctly individual voices of Gjerstad, Lonberg-Holm and Shipp present in exquisite contrast while at all times embedded in deep idealogical cohesion, where each musical gesture is executed with an evocative transparency evidently induced by their unyielding kinship.

Norwegian Frode Gjerstad has long been a leading light in the European creative music world with a career spanning forty years and over 50 albums. He has collaborated with Paal Nilssen-Love, Borah Bergman, Peter Brötzmann, Evan Parker, Derek Bailey, Bjørn Kjellemyr, Terje Isungset, William Parker, Sabir Mateen, John Stevens and others.

Cellist Fred Lonberg-Holm is one of the most acclaimed and prolific musicians in the new music world. A former student of Anthony Braxton, Morton Feldman, Bunita Marcus and Pauline Oliveros, his primary projects are his Valentine Trio and The Lightbox Orchestra. He also currently plays in groups led by Joe McPhee (Survival Unit III), Peter Brotzmann (Chicago 10tet) and Ken Vandermark (Vandermark 5, Frame 4tet, Territory Ensemble). Fred has perfomed with Jim Baker, John Butcher, Mats Gustafsson, Peter Kowald, Nicole Mitchell, Jim O'Rourke, Jeff Parker and rock groups Califone, Freakwater, God-is-my-co-pilot and Wilco.

Matthew Shipp’s influence on 21st century music is undeniably profound. One of the most intrepid pianists and musical thinkers in the creative music world, Shipp has arguably established himself as the most important jazz pianist of his generation. His career has spanned over three decades and includes countless acclaimed albums under his own name in solo, duo and trio contexts including collaborations with Spring Heel Jack, Ivo Perelman, Sabir Mateen, Darius Jones, Joe Morris, Jemeel Moondoc, Mat Walerian and many more.

Iluso Records is an independent
record label founded in 2013.
Our catalogue includes creative new music
from some of the world’s best music makers.